Gawad Parangal 2018: Celebrating 10 years in Health Research Services

  • by Carlson Dave Bolinto
  • Jan 30, 2019
  • 0
  • Category:

The Cordillera Regional Health Research and Development Consortium, through its Capacity Building Committee (CBC), conducted its Gawad Parangal 2018 on January 14, 2019, at Paragon Hotel and Suites, Otek St., Baguio City. The annual Gawad Parangal (Awarding Ceremony) aims to give due recognition to the nominees and awardees from the member institutions for their exceptional contributions to the health research community. These incentive systems also aimed to enhance the interest and competencies of the member institutions in the conduct of health research.


The Best Mentor in Health Research Award recognizes excellence in mentorship that instills passion among researchers, redounding to enhanced relevance and productivity in health research. It is given to recognize the vital role of the research mentor who selflessly shares knowledge and skills, inculcates values and attitudes, and inspires those involved in the research process, thereby creating an enabling environment and contributing to capacity building in research.


  • Research Guidance – 40%
  • Track Record in Research – 25%
  • Dedication in Promoting Research – 20%
  • Contribution Towards a Supportive Research Environment – 10%
  • Other Criteria as Agreed by the Evaluators – 5%


The Best Performing Research Institution Award recognizes the performance of the institutions in promoting and building research capacity and productivity, as well as its overall participation to the activities of the Consortium for the year 2018. This award has two categories: Academe and Service.


  • Representation to Training/Seminars
  • Attendance to Meetings
  • Submission of Papers to Conferences
  • Number of Proposals Submitted for CRHRDC Funding
  • Accreditation of Institutional Research Ethics Committee (IREC) by PHREB


The Best Member Institution Head Award recognizes the head of the institution for excellence in promoting and building research capacity and productivity towards achieving collaborative developments in health research in the region.

Likewise, in celebration of the 10th year anniversary of the Consortium, special tributes were awarded to the individuals who have rendered 10 years of dedicated service and commitment to the health research community in the region:

  • Dr. Raymundo D. Rovillos (Chancellor, University of the Philippines Baguio)
  • Prof. Celia M. Austria (University of the Philippines Baguio)
  • Dr. Erlinda C. Palaganas (University of the Philippines Baguio)
  • Dr. Robert E. Tolentino (Saint Louis University)
  • Dr. Florence V. Poltic (Benguet State University)
  • Dr. Nicolas R. Gordo Jr. (Member, Research Ethics Committee)
  • Dr. Nancy A. Bantog (Regional Director, Department of Science and Technology – CAR)
  • Ms. Maria Rowena C. Madarang (Department of Science and Technology – CAR)
  • Dr. John Anthony A. Domantay (Saint Louis University)

The evaluation and selection of the awardees were conducted in December 2018 through the Awards Committee:

  1. Dr. Nicolas R. Gordo Jr. (Member, Research Ethics Committee)
  2. Dr. Erlinda C. Palaganas (Regional Coordinator)
  3. Dr. Gaudelia A. Reyes (Member, Research Management Committee)
  4. Prof. Celia M. Austria (Chair, Research Ethics Committee)
  5. Dr. Sheila Maries Esther N. Villanueva  (Chair, Capacity Building Committee)


Carlson Dave Bolinto